Zum Inhalt
Zur Navigation

Beschreibung des Bildes

The Courses

A publication by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research states: "Sustainability as an overriding theme must become an obligatory part of all courses if the global challenges of the future are to be faced."

This demand is ambitious when it is compared with the actual situation on the ground. However, in the last few years a substantial number of courses have emerged which deal with the subject of sustainable development. The aim of our data bank is to outline this range of courses systematically and informatively. It covers all the important opportunities for studying sustainability in the entire German tertiary education sector.

But what are courses on "sustainability"? There is no clear definition of the term and therefore the selection criteria were left to the discretion of each individual institution. This self-assessment was complemented by an external assessment of The Courses submitted to the editors. In this the basic principles of sustainable development served as guidelines: integration of ecological, economic and social objectives and perspectives, participation and justice.

The Guide divides courses involving sustainability into groups:

1) Courses dealing expressly with sustainability: courses which expressly and comprehensively cover the field of sustainable development in their profile or deal with key aspects of sustainability.

2) Courses focusing on sustainability: in this case aspects of sustainable development are covered by options, thematic focus of courses, opportunities for specialisation, modules etc.

3) Individual classes dealing with sustainability: courses in which only individual classes show links with sustainability.

The data bank ultimately provides information on over 300 courses and other related facilities involving sustainability. These include over 260 courses which expressly and comprehensively deal with sustainability or offer a thematic focus on sustainability. We estimate that The Guide thus covers over 90% of The Courses involving sustainability in Germany.

 
© 2009 Freie Universität Berlin | Feedback |
Last update: 11/30/2009

Zum Inhalt
Zur Navigation

Beschreibung des Bildes

Über die Studienangebote

"Nachhaltigkeit als übergeordnetes Thema muss Pflichtveranstaltung aller Studiengänge werden, wenn die globalen Herausforderungen in Zukunft bewältigt werden sollen" heißt es in einer Publikation des Bundesministeriums für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF).

Die Forderung ist hoch gesteckt, wenn man sie mit der Wirklichkeit vergleicht. Aber es ist in den letzten Jahren eine erhebliche Anzahl von Studienangeboten zu registrieren, die das Thema nachhaltige Entwicklung aufgreifen. Dieses Studienangebot ebenso systematisch wie informativ darzustellen ist das Anliegen unserer Datenbank. Sie erfasst mit Blick auf die gesamte deutsche Hochschullandschaft alle wesentlichen Studienmöglichkeiten zum Thema Nachhaltigkeit.

Was aber sind Studiengänge zum Thema "Nachhaltigkeit"? Eine klare Definition gibt es nicht und so war das zentrale Auswahlkriterium die Selbstaussage der Hochschulen. Diese Selbsteinschätzung wurde ergänzt durch eine externe Einschätzung der bei der Redaktion eingereichten Studiengänge. Als Orientierung dienten dabei die grundlegenden Prinzipien einer nachhaltigen Entwicklung: Integration von ökologischen, ökonomischen und sozialen Zielen und Perspektiven sowie Partizipation und Gerechtigkeit.

Der Leitfaden unterscheidet die Studiengänge mit Nachhaltigkeitsbezug nach Gruppen:

1) Ausdrückliche Nachhaltigkeits-Studiengänge: Studiengänge, die sich in ihrem Profil ausdrücklich und umfassend auf das Themenfeld der nachhaltigen Entwicklung ausgerichtet haben bzw. Schlüsselthemen der Nachhaltigkeit behandeln.

2) Studiengänge mit dem Schwerpunkt Nachhaltigkeit: In diesem Fall werden durch Wahlpflichtfächer, Studienrichtungen/-schwerpunkte, Vertiefungsmöglichkeiten, Module etc. Aspekte der nachhaltigen Entwicklung behandelt.

3) Einzelne nachhaltigkeitsbezogene Lehrangebote: Studienangebote, in denen lediglich einzelne Lehrveranstaltungen einen Nachhaltigkeitsbezug aufweisen.

Letztlich bietet die Datenbank Informationen zu über 300 Studiengängen und anderen Studienangeboten mit Nachhaltigkeitsbezug. Unter diesen Studienangeboten sind gut 260 Studiengänge, die die nachhaltige Entwicklung ausdrücklich und umfassend zum Gegenstand machen oder einen entsprechenden Studienschwerpunkt anbieten. Wir schätzen, dass der Leitfaden damit über 90% der nachhaltigkeitsbezogenen Studienangebote in Deutschland erfasst.

 
© 2009 Freie Universität Berlin | Feedback |
Stand: 30.11.2009