Zum Inhalt
Zur Navigation

Schriftzug "The Guide 'Study and Research on Sustainability'"

Background

Until this data bank was completed there was no systematic guide devoted to sustainability in the academic field either in the publications market or on the Internet. This is true both for courses and the description of the relevant research institutions.

Anyone who wished to take up a full-time university course, a part of their course or a follow-up course in Germany which involved sustainability could only access the rudimentary information available with difficulty. There was also an information deficit with regard to the activities of the relevant research institutions.

This was a grave deficit, as Germany internationally enjoys a prominent place with its activities in the field of the sciences of sustainability, with sustainability, environmenttal technology and environmental research being seen as promising sectors for Germany's future as an industrial nation.

The Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF)commissioned the Future Institute (Institut Futur) of the Faculty of Education of the Free University of Berlin to compile a guide, "Study and Research on Sustainability", in conjunction with the Association for the Promotion of Ecology in Education (Verein zur Förderung der Ökologie im Bildungsbereich e.V.). The aim of The Guide is firstly to list, systematically describe and structure all the possibilities for studying sustainability at German institutions. The Guide's second aim is to list and describe the relevant research institutions with their research profiles. This is particularly true of state-funded institutions and other selected research institutes.

This publication is intended to provide comprehensive information for prospective students, for researchers, advisers and universities and research institutions active in the field of sustainability.

In addition to this data bank The Guide "Study and Research on Sustainability" is also published in a modified form as a book (with attached CD-Rom) by the W. Bertelsmann publishing company, thereby providing an update to the "Course Guide to Environmental Studies" which first appeared in 1999 as part of the University Paperbacks series (Universitätstaschenbücher, UTB) and is now out of print.

>>Further information on print version

 
© 2009 Freie Universität Berlin | Feedback |
Last update: 11/30/2009

Zum Inhalt
Zur Navigation

Schriftzug "Leitfaden Studium und Forschung zur Nachhaltigkeit"

Hintergrund

Auf dem Markt der Veröffentlichungen wie auch im Internet war bis zur Fertigstellung dieser Datenbank kein systematisch erschlossener Leitfaden zu finden, der sich der Nachhaltigkeit im Wissenschaftsbereich widmet. Das galt für Studiengänge ebenso wie für die Darstellung von einschlägigen Forschungseinrichtungen.

Personen, die ein auf das Thema Nachhaltigkeit bezogenes Studium als Vollstudium, als Teilqualifikation oder auch als Ergänzungsstudium realisieren wollten, konnten sich nur rudimentär und schwer über die Studienmöglichkeiten in Deutschland informieren. Informationsdefizite bestanden auch im Hinblick auf die Aktivitäten einschlägiger Forschungsinstitute.

Dieses Defizit wog schwer, zumal Deutschland sich mit seinen Aktivitäten im Bereich der Nachhaltigkeitswissenschaften auch international gesehen deutlich positioniert. Denn Nachhaltigkeit, Umwelttechnik und Umweltforschung gelten als zukunftsweisende Sektoren für den Wirtschaftsstandort Deutschland.

Das Institut Futur des Fachbereichs Erziehungswissenschaft an der Freien Universität Berlin hat nun im Auftrag des BMBF gemeinsam mit dem Verein zur Förderung der Ökologie im Bildungsbereich e.V. einen Leitfaden "Studium und Forschung zur Nachhaltigkeit" erstellt. Ziel des Leitfadens ist es einerseits, alle an deutschen Hochschulen angebotenen Studienmöglichkeiten zur Nachhaltigkeitswissenschaft zu erfassen, systematisch darzustellen und zu gliedern. Ferner soll der Leitfaden einschlägige Forschungseinrichtungen mit ihren Profilen erfassen und beschreiben. Dieses betrifft insbesondere die staatlich geförderten Einrichtungen sowie andere ausgewählte Forschungsinstitute.

Mit dieser Veröffentlichung sollen Studienplatzsuchende, Forschende, Beratungskräfte und auch die im Feld der Nachhaltigkeit agierenden Hochschulen und Forschungseinrichtungen umfassend informiert werden.

In Aktualisierung des 1999 in der Reihe Universitätstaschenbücher (UTB) erschienenen und mittlerweile vergriffenen "Umweltstudienführers" erscheint der Leitfaden "Studium und Forschung zur Nachhaltigkeit" neben dieser Datenbank nun in modifizierter Form als Publikation mit einer CD-Rom beim W. Bertelsmann Verlag.

>>Weitere Informationen zur Printausgabe

 
© 2009 Freie Universität Berlin | Feedback |
Stand: 30.11.2009