Zum Inhalt
Zur Navigation

Schriftzug "The Guide 'Study and Research on Sustainability'"

The Research Institutions

The Guide's data bank contains just under 200 portraits of the relevant research institutions which base their research on the model of sustainable development. The portraits provide information about key competences and the institution's research fields, the number of staff and size of the research budget, a short outline with a brief characterisation of the institution, future prospects and information on the possibility of doing a work placement or internship at the institution in question.

Research into sustainability

But… what is "research into sustainability"? This is primarily determined by the scientific community. In looking for research institutions, which was largely carried out in the world-wide web, the idea was not to detect these institutions on the basis of a specific definition under which these could be subsumed. The concept of research into sustainability as used here emerges from looking at the actual shape of research on the ground. In other words, the way the researchers involved see themselves and how they base their research on the model of sustainable development is the defining point. For this reason the decision to be outlined in The Guide was ultimately taken by the institutions themselves, who submitted their portraits independently.

Practical relevance and interdisciplinarity

The Guide makes the following clear: research in the area of sustainability looks for solutions to interdependent ecological, technical, economic and social problems which affect the future of society and the Earth's biosystem. This therefore implies that practical relevance is a must. The problems which need to be solved along the lines of sustainable development do not stop at the boundaries of individual disciplines. Research such as this is largely undertaken on an interdisciplinary basis. This becomes evident from the fact that research into sustainability is often carried out in integrated teams, such as those outlined here in cross-faculty research centres at universities.

What does The Guide provide?

The Guide's data bank provides portraits of 60 non-university and just less than 140 university research institutions. Among the non-university institutions there are firstly the big research centres of the research associations, which carry out research into sustainability in individual departments, but also by co-operating across departmental boundaries. Secondly there are the Federal research institutions and those at Federal State level. Thirdly this group includes privately funded research centres. The university institutions include faculties, institutes, specific fields and professorial chairs, cross-faculty interdisciplinary centres, but also those institutes which work directly at the interface with practical reality.

 
© 2009 Freie Universität Berlin | Feedback |
Last update: 11/30/2009

Zum Inhalt
Zur Navigation

Schriftzug "Leitfaden Studium und Forschung zur Nachhaltigkeit"

Über die Forschungseinrichtungen

Die Datenbank des Leitfadens enthält knapp 200 Portraits einschlägiger Forschungseinrichtungen, die ihre Forschung am Leitbild der nachhaltigen Entwicklung orientieren. Die Portraits enthalten Angaben zum Kompetenzschwerpunkt und zu den Forschungsfeldern der Einrichtung, zur Anzahl der MitarbeiterInnen und zur Höhe des Forschungsetats, ein Kurzportrait mit einer knappen Charakterisierung der Einrichtung, Zukunftsperspektiven sowie Angaben zur Möglichkeit, in der jeweiligen Einrichtung ein Praktikum abzuleisten.

Nachhaltigkeitsforschung

Aber...was ist eigentlich "Nachhaltigkeitsforschung"? Das bestimmt in erste Linie die scientific community. Bei der Recherche der Forschungseinrichtungen, die vornehmlich im www stattgefunden hat, ging es nicht darum, auf Grundlage einer speziellen Definition jene Einrichtungen ausfindig zu machen, die dieser subsumiert werden können. Der Begriff der Nachhaltigkeitsforschung, wie er hier zur Anwendung kommt, ergibt sich erst durch den Blick auf die konkrete Gestalt der Forschung in der Praxis. Das Selbstverständnis der Akteure, ihre Forschung am Leitbild der nachhaltigen Entwicklung zu orientieren, ist also der Ausgangspunkt. Von daher wurde die Entscheidung, im Leitfaden portraitiert zu werden, letztlich von den Einrichtungen selbst gefällt und die Portraits zunächst in Eigenregie ausgefüllt.

Praxisbezug und Interdisziplinarität

Der Leitfaden macht folgendes sichtbar: Forschung im Bereich der Nachhaltigkeit sucht nach Lösungen für interdependente ökologische, technische, ökonomische und soziale Probleme, welche die Zukunftsfähigkeit der Gesellschaft und das Lebenssystem der Erde betreffen. Von daher ist der Praxisbezug ihr implizit. Die im Sinne der nachhaltigen Entwicklung zu lösenden Probleme machen vor den Grenzen der Disziplinen nicht halt. Eine solche Forschung geschieht vornehmlich in interdisziplinärer Arbeitsweise. Dies wird schon allein dadurch sichtbar, dass Nachhaltigkeitsforschung oft vernetzt betrieben wird, wie zum Beispiel in den hier portraitierten fakultätsübergreifenden Forschungszentren an den Universitäten.

Was bietet der Leitfaden?

Die Datenbank des Leitfadens bietet Portraits von 60 außeruniversitären und knapp 140 universitären Forschungseinrichtungen. Unter die außeruniversitären Einrichtungen fallen die großen Forschungszentren der Forschungsgesellschaften, die in einzelnen Abteilungen, aber auch in Form von abteilungsübergreifenden Kooperationen Nachhaltigkeitsforschung betreiben, Forschungsinstitute des Bundes und der Länder, sowie Einrichtungen in privater Trägerschaft. Die universitären Einrichtungen betreffen Fakultäten, Institute, bestimmte Fachgebiete und Lehrstühle, fakultätsübergreifende, interdisziplinäre Zentren, aber auch An-Institute, die direkt an der Schnittstelle zur Praxis arbeiten.

 
© 2009 Freie Universität Berlin | Feedback |
Stand: 30.11.2009